Law as a course in Nigerian Universities is one of the most lucrative course in Nigeria. It is preferred by most students who intend looking forward to studying in a university.

Law is one of the most lucrative professions in Nigeria. This is the more reason why a good number of graduating secondary school students would have the desire to study law.

Most graduating secondary school student usually find it hard to get an authentic knowledge about the faculty and departments of law in Nigeria. This lack of authentic information sometimes brings to their table,a misrepresentation on the study of law in Nigeria which may sometimes discourage an aspiring student. This article is meant to address any of such misrepresentation and to give a detailed and brief information on the above discipline.

The programme of courses offered by the faculty of law leads to the bachelor of law (Honours) degree denoted as LL.B (Hons).

The normal duration of the LLB programme in any Nigerian university is five years. This five years duration is only for students who got admitted by the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board(JAMB) mode. It should be noted that a student who got his/her admission through JAMB will have to complete a total of ten semesters, two semesters for each year.

The direct entry duration of the LL.B programme is four years. This four years duration is for students with a degree of a recognized university or its equivalent and the requisite credit of SSCE or GCE or a recognized diploma or two papers at advanced level G.C.E or its equivalent including credit in English and literature in English in the senior secondary school certificate examination, credit in a third subject in the case of candidates with two papers at advanced level is required.

During the first year of the LL.B programme, students are introduced to courses from other departments, like Economics, Psychology, Sociology, Prose and Drama (English), Philosophy this leaving students with only one law course which is Legal Method. The introduction of other departmental courses to first year law students is simply to prepare them for the main study of law courses throughout their stay in the university.

In subsequent years, students are taught the main law courses such as Family Law, Law of Contracts, Constitutional Law, Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Law of Torts, Law of Evidence, Property Law, Equity and Trust Company Law, Jurisprudence and International Law etc. A single non departmental course is added in each subsequent years.

It should be noted that the direct entry students that didn’t start from year one will have to offer the core year one courses such as GSTs or GSSs and Legal Method. This is why the direct entry must adapt quickly.

After the completion of the five years duration in the university and having passed all the courses, a student must attend a compulsory one year law school programme and on its completion and having passed all the necessary exams, a student would then be called to bar as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. The newly graduated barrister will now go for the compulsory one year National Youth Service Corps(NYSC) programme.


Candidates must have at least 5 credit passes in o’level with Mathematics and English being compulsory. Other important subjects are C.R.K, Government, Economics, literature in English.


Candidates aspiring to study law must make sure that they select the correct subject combination for law during JAMB registration. Jamb subject combination for law includes Use of English, Literature in English, Government and C.R.K.


The following universities in Nigeria offer an undergraduate training in Law:

  • University Of Benin, Benin
  • University Of Nigeria, Nsukka
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
  • University Of Ibadan, Ibadan
  • University Of Lagos
  • University of Ilorin
  • Rivers State University Of Science And Technology, Port Harcourt
  • University Of Uyo
  • University Of Jos, Jos
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  • Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko
  • Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Imo State University, Owerri
  • Niger Delta University , Wilberforce Island
  • Kogi State University, Anyigba
  • Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
  • Nigerian Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology, Enugu
  • Osun State University, Osogbo
  • Anambra State University, Uli
  • Bauchi State University, Gadau, Bauchi State
  • Umaru Musa Yaradua University, Katsina
  • Afe Babalola University , Ado-Ekiti
  • Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  • Yobe State University, Damaturu
  • Baze University, Fct, Abuja
  • Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Igbinedion University, Okada, Benin City
  • Nigeria Turkish Nile University , Abuja
  • National Open University Of Nigeria
  • Al- Hikmah University, Ilorin
  • Lead City University , Ibadan
  • Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State
  • Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  • Crescent University, Abeokuta
  • Renaissance University, Ojiagu-Agbani, Enugu
  • University of Calabar
  • American University of Nigeria
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli (COOU)
  • Lagos State University
  • Madonna University, Okija
  • Salem University, Lokoja, Kogi State
  • Elizade University, Ilara-mokin, Ondo State.
  • Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo (ECU), Delta State
  • Edo University, Iyamho (EDSU)
  • Gregory University, Uturu (GUU)
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University


We hope you find this article informative and helpful. Thanks for reading.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here